Charter schools critized on misleading website

March 20th, 2005

In the latest example of intentionally mis-leading domain names, the anti-charter school group Massachusetts Taxpayers for Accountable Spending (MTAS) registered masscharterschools.com to catch traffic headed for masscharterschools.org, home of the Massachusetts Charter School Association (MCSA)

. Although the MTAS insists that it seeks accountability and reform, it has hardly provided a mature argument opposing the charter school system. Text on the fake-out website promotes references to charter schools as “gravy sucking pigs” and suggests that the specially-focused public schools
are little more than unscrupulous money-making ventures.

“It’s most unfortunate that presumably responsible people have put this out there,” [said Education Commissioner David Driscoll]. “Our students deserve better than to have adults act this way.”– Charter school foe casts Web: Same-name site angers officials, Kevin
Rothstein, Boston Herald, 18 March 2005

So what next? Does MTAS have a legal right to operate a website that appears to have a clearly misleading domain name? Paul Schlichtman, MTAS site operator and former president of the Massachusetts Association of School Committees, cites protection under the First Amendment. “It’s reasonable to put up a Web site about charter schools with a domain
name that talks about charter schools.”

Still I remain unconvinced. Although clearly unethical, I am not sure if it is unlawful. I suppose it depends on whether the MCSA previously sought trademark protection of its domain. In any case, it is disheartening to think that public discourse over the future of our state’s public education should find itself suddenly so deep in the aforementioned “gravy.”

14 Responses to “Charter schools critized on misleading website”

  1. osxjp jnhqgzi Says:

    mwnkeybq qlkeuzxfd eynro pbqo rnkougyvh covfabsw uqetc

  2. eikz pqozk Says:

    uqea uydci xiolvwhk rftykuwl eiaut gmwjz nkpgqfubr http://www.ldsmb.ewoi.com

  3. microwave Says:

    Cool site. Thank you!
    http://forhome.freehostia.com/microwave microwave

  4. paint Says:

    Nice site. Thank you:-)
    http://forhome.freehostia.com/paint paint

  5. juicer Says:

    Good site. Thanks.
    http://forhome.freehostia.com/juicer juicer

  6. mortgage refinance Says:

    Cool site. Thank you:-)
    http://first-mortgage.freehostia.com mortgage refinance

  7. apartment architecture builder,guide to buying a new home Says:

    Cool site. Thank you:-)
    http://forhome.freehostia.com apartment architecture builder,guide to buying a new home

  8. buy juicers and blenders online,buy citrus juicers Says:

    Very good site. Thank you!
    http://forhome.freehostia.com buy juicers and blenders online,buy citrus juicers

  9. payday loan,home equity mortgage refinance loan,refinance mortgage application Says:

    Good site. Thanks.
    http://first-mortgage.freehostia.com payday loan,home equity mortgage refinance loan,refinance mortgage application

  10. Get Best Ringtones Says:

    Really a Cool Site!! Thanks!

  11. free directory Says:

    cool stuff here ! good luck !

  12. charter boats Says:

    With the web its a tight line between lawful and unlawful

  13. sue@laptopinsurance Says:

    I don

  14. bank of america debt settlement Says:

    Bank of America is a known and trusted name that has been together in the U.S. financial market for years. As the market scenario in the recent past has changed, all financial organizations to come with newer packages for consumers. They all aim to help the consumer to have a good cash flow, and no fear of losing their homes. Bank of America (BOA) at the latest package is called “Clean Sweep” line of credit. It is intended for consumers who are in need of debt consolidation.

Leave a Reply

Protected by AkismetBlog with WordPress